Sarah Darroch, History work placement student, has been working with us and her colleague Rachael to update our Glasgow themed resource guide. Sarah was particularly taken by the George Wyllie papers and features the collection in her article, below.
Undertaking the work placement module at the Strathclyde Archives and Special Collections as a student doing an MSc in Historical Studies has proved to be an exciting and fulfilling role. Participating in the Glasgow 850 celebrations, by focusing on the Glasgow-related collections here, has allowed me to explore a multitude of collections relating to the rich history of Glasgow with a focus on the Robertson collection, the Glasgow Dilettanti Society, the Glasgow Novel collection and the George Wyllie collection. I took a particular interest in the works of Wyllie, who donated his papers to the University between 2006 and 2009.
Wyllie was well-known for his innovation, interactive exhibits and often theatrical interpretations of art and forms of sculpture. ‘A Day Down a Goldmine’ (1982) aimed to represent Glasgow and its people, interpreting monetary value from the working-class perspectives of mine workers during the Thatcher government. ‘Running Clock’ (2000) is a staple to the streets of Glasgow city: positioned outside of the Buchanan Bus Station. It embodies the hustle and bustle of the city while also providing functionality by telling the time to passersby. This sculpture is a particular favourite of mine, I believe it to be the perfect balance of symbolism and functionality, highlighting the busy nature of the city while also being somewhat comic in its pose.
George Wyllie’s innovative outlook on the collaboration of culture and artwork and his coining of the term ‘scul?ture’ aimed to leave viewers of his work with a lingering question in their minds. He often made references to Glasgow’s declining industry but also explored the idea of climate crisis and took these concepts outwith the city of Glasgow on his travels around the world. The archive includes documentation of these travels and ideas contained in Wyllie’s sketchbooks, which provide a unique and fascinating insight into the backbone of his work.
The George Wyllie papers are available to view at the University of Strathclyde Archives and Special Collections, including correspondence, sketchbooks, writings, newspaper articles, exhibition papers, photographs, and awards. You can also find the oration presented by Professor A Reed for the Degree of Doctor of Letters awarded to Wyllie by the University in April 1990 for his artistic successes and this ‘gentle wit and sharp humour’ towards life and his work.
Further information:
George Wyllie papers (ref: T-WYL)
Our latest archival display (June - September 2025) on Level 3 of the Library showcases some of the collections featured in the enhanced resource guide.
