LibGuides: Translation Studies: Home

Recommended databases for Translation Studies

Translation Studies Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Translation Studies Bibliography is an annotated bibliography of research from the translation and interpreting studies discipline. It includes references to journal articles, monographs, reviews, reference materials, dissertations and unpublished manuscripts. Translation Studies Bibliography does not provide the full text of these resources. Please check SUPrimo to see if the materials of interest are accessible.
Humanities Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, Humanities Index indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. There are regular monthly updates.
Communication Source
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication Source provides access to information and resources in areas related to communication and mass media. Full text access is provided to over 300 journals. Useful for: English and Creative Writing, Journalism, Media and Communication, Languages, Speech and Language Therapy.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LLBA indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Useful for English and Creative Writing, Languages and Speech and Language Therapy.
Web of Science - Core Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science Core Collection comprises a set of databases covering scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examines proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Humanities Source
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is a useful resource for anyone studying or researching the humanities. It provides full text access to over 1400 journals and citations to over 3.5 million articles including book reviews.

Related databases for Translation Studies

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text provides access to references to journal articles, books, and dissertations in disciplines including: language, literature, folklore, film studies, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts from the early 20th century to the present. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography. Full text access to over 1000 journals is included.

This is an upgraded version of MLA International Bibliography containing additional full text access.
OmniFile Full Text Select
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of journal articles and book reviews. It has multidisciplinary subject coverage, including arts, biology, business, current affairs, education, humanities, information science, law, literature and social sciences.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The Library subscribes to the following JSTOR journal collections: Arts & Sciences I,II,III,IV & VII, and Business II. JSTOR archives contains the full-text of non-current issues of journals digitised back to the first issue published to a date generally 3 to 5 years from the most current published issue. We also have access to current content for a few publications on the JSTOR platform. The Library also has access to the JSTOR digitised collection of 19th Century British Pamphlets.
Gale Literature
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature provides access to a wide range of literary resources including:

Contemporary Authors Online
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Resource Centre
LitFinder
Scribner Writer Series
Something About the Author Online
Twayne's Authors Series

For more information about each source click on What's Inside from the main search screen.
Sage Research Methods
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. It supports research at all levels and across all subjects by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Also includes cases, datasets, data analysis and materials on data visualization, qualitative and quantitative research methods, statistical methods and statistical packages such as Python, R and SPSS among others.

Useful shelf numbers - Translation

Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme whereby each subject is represented by a number. You will find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.

Useful Translation and related subjects shelfmarks:

D 418.02 Translating and interpreting

D 420 English language

D 425 English grammar

D 440 French language

D 450 Italian language

D 460 Spanish language