It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sport & Physical Activity: Home
This guide will help you to find and use Library resources for your assignments, dissertations, theses and other research. Please contact me if you would like further help or information
SPORTDiscus is an index to literature relating to sport, physical education and fitness. It includes references to books, book chapters, conference proceedings, journal articles, magazines and dissertations. It covers the period 1800 to present.
APA PsycInfo contains references to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations in the field of psychology and behavioural sciences. It covers the period from 1600 to present. Almost all the materials included in APA PsycInfo are peer-reviewed. As well as psychology it includes references to the psychological aspects of: health, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, business and law.
Formerly known as Physical Education Index, this database indexes literature relating to physical and health education, sports studies, physical therapy, kinesiology, sport psychology and the business of sport. It includes scholarly academic content and trade publications. It covers the period 1970 - present.
Useful for: Biomedical Engineering, Education, Health and Health Promotion, Physical Activity for Heath and Prosthetics and Orthotics.
The Web of Science Core Collection comprises a set of databases covering scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examines proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
The British Education Index provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers education from pre-school to university level and includes a thesaurus using UK-specific educational terminology. Most of the journals included in British Education Index are published in the UK, although some international literature is included. This database can be cross-searched with ERIC.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from from 1966 to present. It can be cross-searched with the British Education Index.
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. This includes coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases. The databases include: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) and The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL). This version of the Cochrane Library is brought to you by Wiley Interscience.
This resource is publicly accessible to users within the UK and many other countries (full details at https://www.cochranelibrary.com/help/access ). Users in these countries may access Cochrane Library without any requirement to log in. Strathclyde members based in other countries can access the resource by selecting Sign In > Institutional Login > searching for University of Strathclyde in the login via Shibboleth option > and entering their University DS username and password.
PubMed, from the US National Library of Medicine in Washington DC, provides access to over 19 million citations back to the 1950's from MEDLINE and additional life sciences journals. It also includes links to full-text articles and related resources. No login required. If you require an NCBI account (e.g. to create alerts) you can create it and login using one of the third party options, e.g. Google, Login.gov, Microsoft Live.
Open access/publicly accessible content. No login required.
SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. It supports research at all levels and across all subjects by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Also includes cases, datasets, data analysis and materials on data visualization, qualitative and quantitative research methods, statistical methods and statistical packages such as Python, R and SPSS among others.
Useful shelf numbers - Sport and Physical Activity
Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme whereby each subject is represented by a number. You will find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.
Useful Sport and Physical Activity and related subjects shelfmarks:
D 611 Anatomy
D 612.044 Physiology of sport and exercise
D 613.07 Health education and health promotion
D 613.71 Exercise psychology
D 796 Sport
About this LibGuide
This guide will help you discover and use Library resources to help with your assignments, dissertations, projects and research.
Your DS password will be required to access some eresources on campus and all eresources off campus.
Please contact me if you need any help or advice in using the resources.