Languages: Home

LLBA indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Useful for English and Creative Writing, Languages and Speech and Language Therapy.

Communication Source provides access to information and resources in areas related to communication and mass media. Full text access is provided to over 300 journals. Useful for: English and Creative Writing, Journalism, Media and Communication, Languages, Speech and Language Therapy.

Humanities Source is a useful resource for anyone studying or researching the humanities. It provides full text access to over 1400 journals and citations to over 3.5 million articles including book reviews.

Translation Studies Bibliography is an annotated bibliography of research from the translation and interpreting studies discipline. It includes references to journal articles, monographs, reviews, reference materials, dissertations and unpublished manuscripts. Translation Studies Bibliography does not provide the full text of these resources. Please check SUPrimo to see if the materials of interest are accessible.

An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, Humanities Index indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. There are regular monthly updates.

IBSS is an index to journal articles and books in the social sciences. It covers the period 1951 to present. It covers a wide range of social sciences literature and it is particularly strong in anthropology, economics, politics and sociology.

Useful for: Economics, Education, Government and Public Policy and Social Policy.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature (over 1,600 journals) of the arts and humanities from 1975 to date. Useful for: Architecture, History, Languages, English Literature, Journalism and Speech and Language Therapy.

The Web of Science Core Collection comprises a set of databases covering scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examines proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

Social Science Premium Collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences.
It provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals. (Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.)
Dates of coverage: 1871 - current.
Subject coverage includes: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.

Nexis provides full-text coverage of newspapers worldwide, plus press releases, transcripts of TV broadcasts, newswires, magazines and trade journals.

Factiva is a current international news database produced by Dow Jones, a global provider of economic and financial information. Users have access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. Content provides local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events, containing current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.

European Newsstream provides full text access to recent editions of over 400 European newspapers. Access includes major titles such as Le Monde; the Guardian; Les Echos and El Mundo. Coverage dates vary per title.

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text provides access to references to journal articles, books, and dissertations in disciplines including: language, literature, folklore, film studies, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts from the early 20th century to the present. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography. Full text access to over 1000 journals is included.

This is an upgraded version of MLA International Bibliography containing additional full text access.

Gale Literature provides access to a wide range of literary resources including:

Contemporary Authors Online
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Resource Centre
LitFinder
Scribner Writer Series
Something About the Author Online
Twayne's Authors Series

For more information about each source click on What's Inside from the main search screen.

Gale Research Complete provides access to the following resources. (Please note this resource was previously named Gale Reference Complete.)

Archives Unbound
Contemporary Authors
Gale Literature
Gale Academic OneFile
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Gale Primary Sources - historical newspaper archives
Gale eBooks
Gale General OneFile
LitFinder
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Resource Center
Gale OneFile News
Scribner Writer Series
Something About the Author
Twayne's Authors Series
Gale Business: Insights

Each of these resources can be searched individually from this site, or cross searched with related resources by using either:

Gale Power Search (Gale Academic OneFile, Gale General OneFile, Gale OneFile News, Gale eBooks and two literary sources), 

Gale Primary Sources (historical newspaper archives and Archives Unbound), or 

Gale Literature (literature sources).

Archives Unbound contains subject based digital collections of historical documents covering a broad range of topics including: American history, British history, European history, Gender Studies, History of Health and Medicine, Journalism and Literature.

SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. It supports research at all levels and across all subjects by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Also includes cases, datasets, data analysis and materials on data visualization, qualitative and quantitative research methods, statistical methods and statistical packages such as Python, R and SPSS among others.