LibGuides: Journalism, Media and Communication: Home

Recommended databases for Journalism, Media and Communication

Communication Source
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication Source provides access to information and resources in areas related to communication and mass media. Full text access is provided to over 300 journals. Useful for: English and Creative Writing, Journalism, Media and Communication, Languages, Speech and Language Therapy.
Business Source Ultimate
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ultimate includes over 3,500 full text journals (including OA journals) in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes over 15,000 case studies, 1 million company profiles, 5,500 SWOT analyses, 65,000 business videos, 8,000 industry reports and 2,500 market research reports. Other non journal content includes books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, investment research reports, country reports and more.
Includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886.
Humanities Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, Humanities Index indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. There are regular monthly updates.
ProQuest One Business
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A business focused interface guides users to a huge range of content including journal articles, books, company, industry and country reports. Other content includes case studies and video content.
Web of Science - Core Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science Core Collection comprises a set of databases covering scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examines proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Humanities Source
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is a useful resource for anyone studying or researching the humanities. It provides full text access to over 1400 journals and citations to over 3.5 million articles including book reviews.

Related databases for Journalism, Media and Communication

ABC data
- This link opens in a new window
Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.
Access to historical circulation statistics for UK newspapers and magazines. Data is available from 2000 to present.
Current ABC data and reports are publicly available, however registration is required to access historical data back to 2000.
This resource cannot be accessed using University of Strathclyde credentials. Users must register a separate account. First-time users should go to https://www.abc.org.uk/login and register an account.
Use your University of Strathclyde email address when registering. For security reasons do not reuse your University password.
ABC's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy can be viewed via links on the website.
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Factiva is a current international news database produced by Dow Jones, a global provider of economic and financial information. Users have access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. Content provides local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events, containing current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.
Gale Literature
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature provides access to a wide range of literary resources including:

Contemporary Authors Online
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Resource Centre
LitFinder
Scribner Writer Series
Something About the Author Online
Twayne's Authors Series

For more information about each source click on What's Inside from the main search screen.
Nexis
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis provides full-text coverage of newspapers worldwide, plus press releases, transcripts of TV broadcasts, newswires, magazines and trade journals.
European Newsstream
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
European Newsstream provides full text access to recent editions of over 400 European newspapers. Access includes major titles such as Le Monde; the Guardian; Les Echos and El Mundo. Coverage dates vary per title.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture from Roman times to the twenty-first century. Entries are for those who died in or before the year 2012. It contains over 60,300 biographies and over 11,400 portraits.
Sage Research Methods
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. It supports research at all levels and across all subjects by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Also includes cases, datasets, data analysis and materials on data visualization, qualitative and quantitative research methods, statistical methods and statistical packages such as Python, R and SPSS among others.

Useful shelf numbers - Journalism

Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme whereby each subject is represented by a number. You will find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.

Useful Journalism and related subjects shelfmarks:

D 070.19 Television news

D 070.4 News journalism

D 072 The press

D 079 Newspapers - history

D 302.23 Mass media

D 302.231 Social media

D 820-4(09) Writing