It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Bibliography of British and Irish History searches academic resources (book, book chapters and journal articles) relating to the history of the British Isles and the British Empire and Commonwealth. It covers all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It contains almost 590,000 records.
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, Humanities Index indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. There are regular monthly updates.
ProQuest's Politics Collection provides access to databases such as PAIS and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals.
This collection includes: PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Subject coverage includes: politics, government, international relations, public policy and electoral systems.
The Web of Science Core Collection comprises a set of databases covering scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examines proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The Library subscribes to the following JSTOR journal collections: Arts & Sciences I,II,III,IV & VII, and Business II. JSTOR archives contains the full-text of non-current issues of journals digitised back to the first issue published to a date generally 3 to 5 years from the most current published issue. We also have access to current content for a few publications on the JSTOR platform. The Library also has access to the JSTOR digitised collection of 19th Century British Pamphlets.
Westlaw provides full-text access to a variety of legal information, including many UK cases, UK and Scottish legislation, a number of UK legal journals and EU materials. Westlaw's Journals search provides abstracts from articles from UK-published journals, including articles not available in full-text on Westlaw. Non-UK material is available by following the link to 'Westlaw International' from the homepage.
Use your University DS login.
When accessing the new Westlaw UK platform for the first time you will additionally be required to provide name and email. Please enter your University of Strathclyde email address. Thomson Reuter’s privacy statement is available via a link at the bottom of this 'Add personal information' page.
Lexis+ UK Legal Research provides full-text access to legal, tax and accountancy information. This includes many U.K. reported and unreported cases, legislation, and a number of U.K. legal journals. Commentary includes the Stair Memorial Encyclopaedia and Halsbury’s Laws of England. In force legislation relating to England and Wales as well as that from the Scottish Parliament is included, but some pre-devolution U.K. legislation applying solely to Scotland is excluded. Material from non-U.K. jurisdictions is available under the ‘International’ tab. The service includes Tax and Accountancy content - sign in to Lexis+ UK and choose the 'Practice Area' tab, then select the Tax or Accounting options.
The Hague Academy Collected Courses Online / Recueil des Cours de l’Académie de la Haye en ligne, provides online access to over 90 years of the history of international law. The Hague Academy of International Law is a center for high level education in public and private international law. The Academy’s scientific body, the Curatorium, calls upon foremost specialists, including academics, practitioners, diplomats, and other leading experts from all over the world, to deliver courses to an international audience in English or French. The courses are published in the Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law, which are an important encyclopaedic publication on private and public international law.
HeinOnline is a legal research database. The University’s subscription includes access to the ‘Law Journal Library’, ‘Scottish Legal History’ and ‘English Reports, Full Reprint’ databases. All content within HeinOnline is image-based in PDF format and fully searchable.
Archives Unbound contains subject based digital collections of historical documents covering a broad range of topics including: American history, British history, European history, Gender Studies, History of Health and Medicine, Journalism and Literature.
Documents on British Policy Overseas is a collection of 20th century primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office. It is based on three print series covering peacetime diplomacy: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939 and Documents on British Overseas Policy.
This online archive contains a unique selection of British Foreign Office records documenting the various peace treaties signed at the end of the First World War and their consequences thereafter. Sourced from the UK National Archives and British Library.
Drawn primarily from the records of the Special Operations Executive (SOE) at The National Archives, UK, this British Online Archives collection reveals the relationship between the SOE and the American Office of Strategic Services (OSS) – forerunner of the Central Intelligence Agency – during the Second World War.
Spanning four key twentieth-century conflicts, with a spotlight on the Second World War, Secret Files from World Wars to Cold War provides access to British government secret intelligence and foreign policy files from 1873 to 1953. This resource is cross-searchable with British Society, 1939-1951 on the History Commons platform.
This resource provides access to declassified information about the US intelligence community in the Far East during the Cold War. It covers the period 1945-1991. Countries covered include: China, North Korea, North Vietnam, Japan, Taiwan, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore and Australia.
Primary source collection offering access to 2500 declassified intelligence files covering the time period from the end of World War Two to the present day. This resource will be of interest to those studying, teaching or researching the history or politics and international relations of the Middle East and the United States. A commentary which contextualises the collection is available. It is possible to search or browse the collections.
This resource provides access to over 2300 formerly classified U.S. government documents (most of them classified Top Secret or higher). It provides readers with the documentary record of the successes and failures of the U.S. intelligence community in its efforts to spy on the Soviet Union during the Cold War. This document collection covers the period from the end of World War II in 1945 until the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991, but also includes a number of formerly classified historical reports and articles written by U.S. intelligence historians since the end of the Cold War. It will be of interest to anyone researching, studying or teaching the history of politics of this time period.
Use your University DS login.
Related databases for Diplomacy & International Security
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. This includes coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. It supports research at all levels and across all subjects by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Also includes cases, datasets, data analysis and materials on data visualization, qualitative and quantitative research methods, statistical methods and statistical packages such as Python, R and SPSS among others.
Public Information Online contains publications from the Westminster Parliament, Scottish Parliament, Northern Ireland Assembly, National Assembly for Wales, Scottish Government and also Non-Parliamentary material.
It provides access to Bills, Command Papers, House of Commons Papers, House of Lords Papers, Hansard, Scottish Parliament Papers, the SP Official Report and Scottish Government Papers.
Dates of coverage: UK Parliament (2006/07 Session onwards); Scottish Parliament (Session 3 onwards). Hansard is available from 2008/09 onwards. Earlier content is being added.
Useful for: All disciplines - especially Education, Government & Public Policy, Law, Politics, Social Work & Social Policy.
Off campus? Use your University DS login. Select Login, select Shibboleth Login through your Home Organisation, search for and select University of Strathclyde and select Continue.
UK Parliamentary Papers (formerly House of Commons Parliamentary Papers) contains Sessional Papers (e.g. House of Commons Papers, Command Papers and Public Bills) from 1715 to the 2009/10 parliamentary session. UKPP also provides access to supplementary parliamentary material back to 1688 including material from the House of Lords. Full-text of papers from session 2010-11 onwards is available via the Public Information Online service.
Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme whereby each subject is represented by a number. You will find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.
D 327 International Relations and Diplomacy
D 940 European history
D 956 Middle Eastern history
D 973 American history
About this LibGuide
This guide will help you discover and use Library resources to help with your assignments, dissertations, projects and research.
Your DS password will be required to access some eresources on campus and all eresources off campus.
Please contact me if you need any help or advice in using the resources.