It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Design, Manufacture and Engineering Management: Researching engineering failures or disasters
This guide will help you find and use Library resources for your assignments, dissertations, theses and other research. Please contact me if you would like further help or information.
Take time to plan the keywords you are going to use in your search. What type of engineering disaster are you interested in; a bridge collapse, an offshore catastrophe, a railway accident, an aircraft crash, a structural failure, a disaster at sea? As well as your main keywords think about associated terms such as faults, defects, negligence, engineering failures etc. Map out a list of alternative terms that you want to search for and keep a note of these.
Also plan out the type of documents and information sources that you think may be relevant to your literature review – books written about the disaster, general works on engineering failures with case studies that include the incident you are interested in, eyewitness accounts, press reports and newspaper material, journal articles in professional and academic engineering journals, government committees of enquiry, legislation at the time and any subsequent changes to improve safety procedures, health and safety documentation and industry codes of practice.
This will all help you to choose where to search. SUPrimo Library Collections tab will tell you what books, journals and reports we have in stock, the Articles + databases tab will help you find specific articles. Specialist databases such as OHSIS or ProQuest's Engineering Collection can help you find more detailed references, other useful sources to search are linked in the right hand column below.
For further help pop by the enquiry desk on Level 4.
The library holds an array of texts which might help this type of search, the list below is a handful of them. You should use SUPrimo to search for others relevant to the disaster or failure you are researching.
This book contains accounts of well-known disasters from a selection of industries and discusses the lessons to be learned from these cases. Information is given about accident investigations and causes such as human error, equipment failure or failure of materials are discussed. Covers railway disasters including Hatfield, the Zeebrugge disaster (Herald of Free Enterprise), bridge disasters such as Tacoma Narrows and the Tay bridge, the De Havilland Comet and the Challenger space crash.
This book covers aircraft accidents including the Comet crashes in 1954 and the DC-10 crash in 1974, airships, automobiles, bridge collapses, buildings and structures, chemical, ecological and environmental disasters, failure of dams, medical disasters, nuclear plants, ships, spacecraft, and submarines. The entries provide background information, give details of the incident, and assess the impact of the disaster, the "Where to Learn More" section suggests further readings on each topic.
Covers case studies based around eight topics including mechanics of materials, steel structures, and fluid mechanics and hydraulics and covers events such as the World Trade Centre attacks, Tacoma Narrows disaster and the space shuttle Challenger.
The Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter either your DS username and password or your University email address and password where prompted.
Occupational Health and Safety Information Service (OHSIS) provides up-to-date reference sources of key Health and Safety documentation relevant to the workplace. OHSIS covers Health and Safety issues such as training, first aid, electrical safety, manual handling, dangerous substances, fire safety, and environmental health guidance. It also includes a selection of British Standards relating to Health and Safety and government legislation and documentation from organisations such as ROSPA and HSE, all available in full text.
Nexis provides full-text coverage of newspapers worldwide, plus press releases, transcripts of TV broadcasts, newswires, magazines and trade journals.
Use your University DS login.
Public Information Online contains publications from the Westminster Parliament, Scottish Parliament, Northern Ireland Assembly, National Assembly for Wales, Scottish Government and also Non-Parliamentary material.
It provides access to Bills, Command Papers, House of Commons Papers, House of Lords Papers, Hansard, Scottish Parliament Papers, the SP Official Report and Scottish Government Papers.
Dates of coverage: UK Parliament (2006/07 Session onwards); Scottish Parliament (Session 3 onwards). Hansard is available from 2008/09 onwards. Earlier content is being added.
Useful for: All disciplines - especially Education, Government & Public Policy, Law, Politics, Social Work & Social Policy.
Off campus? Use your University DS login. Select Login, select Shibboleth Login through your Home Organisation, search for and select University of Strathclyde and select Continue.
Access to bibliographic references of grey literature from Europe. Grey literature includes technical and research reports, doctoral dissertations, some conference proceedings and some official publications.
Open access/publicly accessible content. No login required.