A standard, sometimes called a technical standard, is a document designed to detail the requirements of processes, methods, or technical criteria in relation to a specific item or procedure. For example it may outline the safety specifics required when designing a vehicle, or the welding methods suitable for steel used in construction.
Standards are created by a variety of bodies, often in a collaborative fashion, and enable the best practice to be established and followed.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowBritish Standards Online offers access to the full-text of around 38,500 standards, including European and International standards where the UK has adopted them. Please use ASTM Compass to access ASTM standards. We do not currently subscribe to ASME standards or Boiler Pressure Vessel Codes (BPVC).
This link opens in a new window
Please read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.
The Construction Information Service Online (CIS Online) provides electronic access to technical information including an index to a selection of standards, regulatory and advisory documents, guidance and other material for the UK construction industry. The online service provides bibliographic data such as document titles and summaries plus full text images, either Adobe pdf format or scanned facsimiles.
This link opens in a new windowPlease read the Additional Information before accessing this eResource.
Provides full text access to all DNV rules and standards. DNV are the world’s leading classification society and a recognized advisor for the maritime industry including renewables, oil and gas, and energy management. They are one of the world’s leading certification bodies.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowIEEE Xplore provides full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Access is to the full text published since 1988 and select content published since 1913 from: IEEE journals, transactions, proceedings, and magazines; IEEE conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Spectrum Magazine; IEEE-Wiley eBooks collection; IET journals; IET conference proceedings.
ASHRAE. Some standards are available to preview in a read only version. No printing or copying is possible however many of the most used standards can be viewed. https://www.ashrae.org/technical-resources/standards-and-guidelines/read-only-versions-of-ashrae-standards
ASME standards are included with membership of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE). If you are a member try the IMechE library for access. https://imeche.org/library-archive/search-our-library-and-digital-resources. Undergraduates and apprentices can apply for Student Affiliate Membership free of charge. Postgraduate students can join as Associate members.
Eurocodes and Eurocode National annexes are available on British Standards Online.
ISO and IEC equivalent standards are available on British Standards Online.
SAE standards are not currently subscribed to. However SAE Technical Papers and Ground Vehicle Standards are included with membership of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE). If you are a member try the IMechE library for access. https://imeche.org/library-archive/search-our-library-and-digital-resources. Undergraduates and apprentices can apply for Student Affiliate Membership free of charge. Postgraduate students can join as Associate members.
If you need to access a standard which is not part of our electronic collections, you can request them via the Inter-Library Service. Please ensure you have checked that there is not an appropriate alternative standard available via British Standards Online, and also that you have all the relevant information including title, standard number, publisher and year issued before placing the request.
Additionally, the National Library of Scotland in Edinburgh holds a complete printed set of current British Standards, as well as many superseded and withdrawn historical standards.
Eurocodes are a suite of European structural standards adopted by national standards bodies to provide common methods and design criteria for building and construction works. They are grouped in 10 areas from 0 to 9 and cover structural design and action on structures, design of concrete, steel, composite, timber, and masonry structures, geotechnical design, design of structures for earthquake resistance, and design of aluminium structures. Full text Eurocodes can be accessed online via BSOL (British Standards Online).
To find Eurocodes in BSOL either search for the relevant BS EN number if you know it or use the keyword search box to find all Eurocode material by entering the term Eurocode. To conduct a more precise search enter Eurocode plus the number of the code you require e.g. "Eurocode 4".
Additional documentation about Eurocodes from a variety of professional organisations can be found in the Construction Information Service. Many professional bodies such as the ICE, BSI (British Standards Institution), and the Institution of Structural Engineers have information about Eurocode implementation on their web sites. The Library also stocks a selection of publications about Eurocodes and further details can be found by searching for Eurocode* in SUPrimo. Library holdings include the BSI Structural Eurocodes Companion which is shelved at D 624.1771 BSI.
