Undertaking a dissertation or project can be a daunting task for many students. The Library provides resources, training and support to help you at all stages of your dissertation.
No idea where to start?
The Library has produced a Dissertation/Project Support LibGuide. This covers topics such as literature searching, literature reviews, research methods and referencing.
The Library runs monthly Getting started with your Dissertation sessions with our colleagues in Learner Development Services (LDS). These sessions can help you:
- Plan your dissertation
- Search for literature (and avoid reading everything you find!)
- Make referencing as painless as possible
The session will also signpost you to more support, both academic and wellbeing, to ensure you are well prepared for whatever your dissertation or project throws at you.
Book your place on an upcoming session here.
The Library and LDS also run Dissertation support drop ins on Level 3 of the Library. Check dates and times here - no booking required.
Need one to one support?
If you are looking for more tailored support, both the Library and Learner Development Services (LDS) provide one to one appointments (in person or online).
Your Faculty Librarian can help you with:
- Reviewing your search strategy and search terms
- Choosing databases to search
- Creating search alerts
- Locating specialist information
- Bibliometrics and altmetrics
- Reference Management
While our colleagues in LDS can support you with:
- Academic practices including reading and notetaking
- Writing for assessments and research
- Critical analysis and evaluation
- Exam preparation and performance
- Organisation and time management
Book a one to one appointment with your Faculty Librarian or an LDS advisor.
Additional resources
Academic Library Skills module
You can also find help via our Academic Library Skills module on MyPlace. There are 15 topics including: choosing keywords, search strategies, selecting databases and referencing. Complete any topic and gain a certificate!
Self-enrol on MyPlace for the Academic Library Skills module for students. (For students using the corporate MyPlace site, enrol for the Academic LIbrary Skills module for corporate students instead).
Learner Development Services (LDS) research resources
The LDS MyPlace page includes a section covering research toolkits and video resources.
LibGuides
The Library provides helpful subject guides with access to the relevant subject databases, as well as guides on general topics such as referencing, research support and more.
Library training
The Library provides regular training sessions (in person and online) on a wide range of topics.
View our training calendar to see upcoming sessions.
Library help
You can access the Library Enquiry service through the following options:
- In person: Visit one of our 3 Enquiry desks (on levels 3, 4 and 5 of the library)
- Email: Contact IS Enquiries at help@strath.ac.uk
- Telephone: Call us at 0141 548 4444
- Online: Use our Support Portal
