In 1910, the Royal Technical College in Glasgow (now the University of Strathclyde) opened its School of Navigation, designed to equip students with the technical skills necessary for careers at sea. The School provided a wide range of training in seamanship, navigation, and nautical astronomy, using innovative tools and models to enhance learning. Among these was a 'land-ship,' a revolving mock navigation bridge on the College’s rooftop, which offered students hands-on experience with compass adjustment. This unique platform, built with a Kelvin compass, was a striking feature that appeared—at first glance—like a ship sailing high above Glasgow’s rooftops, with the dome of the City Chambers visible in the background. A giant telescope, housed in an observatory on the top floor of the College, was also part of the School’s resources, helping students study nautical astronomy.

In addition to these advanced models and apparatus, the College sought to incorporate practical training on the water. In 1913, they purchased a steam yacht named Vivid, intending to use it as a training ship for the students. The Vivid was meant to provide students with an opportunity to supplement their theoretical education with real-world experience at sea. Unfortunately, this ambitious plan met a tragic end. In July of that year, less than a day into its maiden voyage as a training vessel, the Vivid struck a rock and was wrecked off the coast of Colonsay. Although no lives were lost, the incident marked the end of the School’s aspirations to own and operate a large training vessel. After the loss of the Vivid, the School limited its maritime fleet to smaller boats—dinghies for teaching rowing and sailing.

Responsibility for the provision of nautical education was transferred to Glasgow Education Authority in 1965 and the School of Navigation became the Department of Navigation at Stow College of Engineering. In 1969, the responsibility was transferred to the Glasgow College of Nautical Studies.

Image references: OP 4/81/2 School of Navigation students aboard the training ship Vivid, 1913; OP/3/72 Photograph of deviascope on roof of Royal College building, c. 1913

Further information:

Photographs from the School of Navigation on Flickr.

Film of the Land-Ship in operation, c 1942 (Scottish Screen Archive)

David Pritchard, ‘The loss of the Vivid. The biography of a shipwreck’, July 2015.

Navigation School Committee minutes, 1910-1947 (ref: OE/1/17/1)

Royal Technical College calendars, 1910-1940, containing details of Navigation School courses (ref: OE/10/1)

Navigation School prospectus, c 1956 (ref: OE/10/3/9)

Plans of training ship Vivid, 1912-1913 (ref: OF/33/1)

Navigation School course handouts and examination papers, 1958 (ref: OF/33/2)

The Glasgow Technical College (Weaving Branch) was founded in 1877. It was located on Well Street in Calton, an area of Glasgow known for weaving since the 18th century. In 1896, the College changed its name to the Incorporated Weaving, Dyeing and Printing College of Glasgow.

In 1908, the College was integrated into the Glasgow and West of Scotland Technical College (a predecessor of Strathclyde University) and formed a new Weaving Department.

After this merger, the Weaving Department got new equipment, including 40 power looms and 16 hand looms. The department also had a well-equipped textile testing laboratory and a museum with a large collection of samples of raw materials and finished fabrics. The weaving students were also allowed to “avail themselves of the facilities offered by the other departments of the College, particularly Engineering and Chemistry”. The chemistry facilities included new dyeing, bleaching, and printing laboratories.

The weaving course of instruction lasted three years. It included “experimental pattern designing and weaving on hand loom, power loom, and domestic loom; yarn and cloth testing; and power loom tuning”.

The new Weaving Department also benefited from a scheme of cooperation with Glasgow School of Art. In 1909, the School of Art held classes specifically for weaving students, including an evening class on textile design, and a daytime class on colour. In return, the Weaving Department taught a course on applying design to textiles for art students.

The photograph shows an example of the beautifully woven diploma certificate awarded to students at the Weaving College.

Archives reference: OG 25 Diploma certificate awarded to students of the Incorporated Weaving, Dyeing and Printing College of Glasgow

We are delighted to announce the publication online of a full item-level catalogue of a small but important collection - the papers of Colin Kirkwood, writer, academic and psychoanalytic psychotherapist, and Gerri (Geraldine) Kirkwood, adult and community educator, community activist and English teacher. 

The papers document the work and thinking of this passionate and engaging couple, and some of their collaborators and friends, over 50 odd years from the mid 1960s to 2020, in the fields of community activism, writers' workshops and adult educational work in Glasgow, Edinburgh and the North Midlands in England. One highlight of their work was the successful establishment of the community newspapers ‘Staveley Now’ and ‘Castlemilk Today’, in which they encouraged ordinary people to speak out directly in their own voices. Another was the establishment of the long-running Adult Learning Project in the working-class Gorgie Dalry area of Edinburgh, where they implemented the ideas of the Brazilian adult educator, Paulo Freire. It is no exaggeration to say that Colin and Gerri were hugely influential. Their work changed the shape of adult education in Britain.

The collection includes the couple’s working papers, copies of many of their published articles and books, complete sets of the community newspapers ‘Staveley Now’ and ‘Castlemilk Today’, many Writers' Workshop booklets, as well as several letters and poems from friends, amongst whom were the Scottish writers and poets Tom Leonard, Bob Tait, Edwin Morgan and Ian Hamilton Finlay.

Colin himself has written a fascinating account of the couple’s lives and work, which is essential reading for anyone wanting to understand the full background to this collection (archives reference: KIR/7/16 ‘The Kirkwood Papers’ by Colin Kirkwood). 

Explore the full catalogue of the Kirkwood papers on the online archive catalogue.

The teaching of mining engineering at the university can be traced back to 1859 when the Glasgow School of Mines was established in Anderson’s College. The School was an independent institution governed by a separate committee. However, it was short lived and closed in 1864. By the 1880s, classes in mining had resumed and day classes, leading to a Diploma in Mining, began in 1887 at the Glasgow and West of Scotland Technical College.

Daniel Burns, a prominent figure in the field of mining engineering, was appointed Head of the Department of Mining and Geology in 1902. By 1909, Burns’ position was raised to the status of professor, when he was appointed the first Professor of Mining and Geology at the College.

This photograph shows mining and geology students from the Glasgow and West of Scotland Technical College in Alexandra Park, Glasgow. The date is unknown but it is thought to be around 1907 to 1909.

The photograph, endorsed ‘the College Survey Corps’, shows students with surveying apparatus. Part of the syllabus involved surveying and field work. Numerous excursions to mines and other areas were organised for the students. This allowed practical examination of the geology of the district. The majority of the field and underground work was undertaken during the summer months.

Archives reference: OP4/104 Students from mining and geology class in Alexandra Park, c. 1907-1909