LibGuides: Biological and Biomedical Sciences: Home

Key Databases | Additional Databases | Videos, Guides and help | Useful Shelf Numbers | Faculty Librarian

Key Databases - Biological and Biomedical Sciences

Biological Science Database
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains Biological Sciences, MEDLINE and TOXLINE databases. Biological Science provides access to literature from serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and government publications.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
MEDLINE [Ovid platform]
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts of journal articles in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. From 1946 onwards.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed, from the US National Library of Medicine in Washington DC, provides access to over 19 million citations back to the 1950's from MEDLINE and additional life sciences journals. It also includes links to full-text articles and related resources. No login required. If you require an NCBI account (e.g. to create alerts) you can create it and login using one of the third party options, e.g. Google, Login.gov, Microsoft Live.
Open access/publicly accessible content. No login required.
EMBASE: Excerpta Medica [Ovid]
- This link opens in a new window
EMBASE, the Excerpta Medica database, produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.

Additional Databases - Biological and Biomedical Sciences

SCOPUS
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Web of Science - all databases
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a platform consisting of multiple databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. Content spans multiple disciplines, document types and formats.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
ScienceDirect [Elsevier]
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
PubMed Central
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S National Institute of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). It covers materials from 2000 onwards. No login required. If you require an NCBI account (e.g. to create alerts) you can create it and login using one of the third party options, e.g. Google, Login.gov, Microsoft Live.
Open access/publicly accessible content. No login required.
Europe PubMed Central
- This link opens in a new window
Life sciences, biomedical and health repository. Europe PubMed Central (Europe PMC) is a repository, providing access to worldwide life sciences articles, books, patents and clinical guidelines.
Open access/publicly accessible content. No login required.

Videos, guides and help - Biological and Biomedical Sciences

Searching MEDLINE (Ovid(
How to search the MEDLINE database using the Ovid platform. This demonstration covers the Basic search, Advanced search with keywords and subject headings., limits and search history (recorded Nov 2020).
Ovid Online Training
Training on the Ovid platform. See the Database/Resource specific section for sessions on MEDLINE and Embase.
Scopus LibGuide
Guide to using the Scopus database.
ScienceDirect LibGuide
Guide to using the ScienceDirect database.
Web of Science Platform Training
Get Started with Web of Science. Includes the self-guided Web of Science course and other resources to help you use databases available from the Web of Science platform.

Useful shelf numbers - Biological and Biomedical Sciences

Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme whereby each subject is represented by a number.

You wil find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.

Here are some useful biological and biomedical science shelfmarks.

D 574.1 Physiology

D 574.19 Biochemistry

D 574.2 Pathology

D 574.8 Tissue & molecular biology

D 576 Microbiology

D 612 Human physiology

D 612.01 Human biochemistry

D 615 Pharmacology and therapeutics

D 615.7 Pharmacodynamics

D 664 Food technology

Faculty Librarian

Elaine Blair

Email Me

Subjects: Biosciences, Computer & Information Sciences, Forensic Science, Mathematics & Statistics, Pharmacy & Pharmacology, Physics, Pure & Applied Chemistry, Science, Strathclyde Institute of Pharmacy & Biomedical Sciences