Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
African American Communities This link opens in a new window
Access to a wide range of primary source materials which focuses on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arenas.

The resource focuses on Atlanta, Chicago, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina. Materials accessible from the African American Communities resource include pamphlets, newspaper and periodicals, letters, official records, photographs, maps and oral history materials.

Themes covered include: desegregation, urban renewal and housing problems, civil rights activities and protests, race relations and community integration and African American culture.

Covers the period 1863-1986.
BankFocus This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Bank Focus
BankFocus is a database of banks worldwide. The information is sourced by Bureau van Dijk from a combination of annual reports, information providers and regulatory sources. There are detailed financials for around 46,600 banks, approx. 30,000 in North America and the rest world-wide. The number of years available varies between regions and templates. Most banks have at least seven years of history; some have 30.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL is an index to journals in the allied health and nursing subject areas. As well as indexing over 3000 journals, full text access is provided to over 600 journals. This is a useful database for those studying or researching: Speech and Language Therapy, Sport and Physical Activity, Health Psychology, Digital Health, Pharmacy, Prosthetics and Orthotics and Pharmacology.
Digimap This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Digimap Ultimate Aerial Digimap agCensus Digimap Environment Digimap Geology Digimap Global Digimap Historic Digimap Lidar Digimap Marine Digimap Ordnance Survey Digimap Pilot Digimap Society Digimap Verisk Digimap
Digimap is an online map and data delivery service. Access is available to the Ultimate package including:
Aerial Digimap
agCensus Digimap
Environment Digimap
Geology Digimap
Global Digimap
Historic Digimap
Lidar Digimap
Marine Digimap
Ordnance Survey Digimap
Society Digimap
Verisk Digimap

Please note - downloading data for use in GIS or CAD applications requires specialised software which is NOT available on PCs in the Library.
Le Monde This link opens in a new window
ERESOURCE TRIAL. ACCESS ENDS 30TH JANUARY 2023.
Access to Le Monde newspaper. This trial access provides full text access to Le Monde for the last 12 months.
Prize Papers Online This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): Prize Papers
ERESOURCE TRIAL. ACCESS ENDS 21ST FEBRUARY 2023.

Prize Papers Online is a useful resource for anyone studying or researching maritime history. The Prize Papers archive, part of the archives of the High Court of Admiralty kept in The National Archives in Kew, is commonly regarded as one of the most valuable archives in the field of maritime history. The time period covered is the second half of the seventeenth century until the end of the eighteenth century.

In the course of its many naval engagements the British Royal Navy seized numerous enemy ships. Documents pertaining to tens of thousands of these seized ships (“prizes”), Dutch and French, Spanish and Portuguese, but also Danish, Swedish, German, Italian and American have been preserved. Every ship's file contains at least one document in English: transcriptions of the interrogations by the Prize Courts of the captain and other crew members aboard ships taken as lawful prizes.

Three collections are included:
Prize Papers Online 1: American Revolutionary War and Fourth Anglo-Dutch War.
Prize Papers Online 2: Seven Years' War and War of the Austrian Succession.
Prize Papers Online 3: First, Second and Third Anglo-Dutch War and War of the Spanish Succession

Each collection can be searched separately.

In addition, Prize Papers Online Atlas is freely accessible: see https://brill.com/display/db/ppao
Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
Explore digitised resources relating to the struggle for civil rights in America through the eyes and work of sociologists, activists, psychologists, teachers, ministers, students and housewives. Key themes include:
Desegregation of schools, industries and public transport;
Migration of African Americans from the rural south to urban centres;
The role of the church in the Civil Rights Movement;
Race riots and other racial tensions;
Activities of the Civil Rights Movement.

Contents include primary sources such as audio recordings, photographs, scrapbooks, survey material, posters and case studies. Secondary sources are also included, e.g. an interactive map, a data association tool, contextual essays, thematic guides and more.

Covers the period 1928-1970.
Routledge History of Feminism This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s): History of Feminism, Routledge Historical Resources
The Routledge History of Feminism resource covers the period of the long nineteenth century (1776-1928). It includes primary and secondary resources including books, chapters, journal articles and more. Themes of the resource are: politics and law; religion and belief; education; literature and writings; women at home; society and culture; empire and movements and ideologies.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...
Contact us                                Electronic Library Services                              Library Home