Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Google Scholar: Google Scholar at Strathclyde

A guide to the pros and cons of searching in Google Scholar and some of the features to help with searching.

Introduction to Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search engine that retrieves academic level or scholarly information. Its simple search interface allows users to find academic level material quickly. However, whilst it is a very useful search engine, there is some Strathclyde content that's not available via Google Scholar. It is best to use Google Scholar in conjunction with other subscribed Strathclyde databases.

Video - Library Links & Full Text @ Strathclyde

Library Links & Full Text @ Strathclyde

Make sure that Google Scholar settings are set to show you Strathclyde subscribed content:

Google SCholar Settings Strathclyde

Choose Settings > Library Links > Search 'University of Strathclyde' > Select 'University of Strathclyde - Full Text @ Strathclyde' box > Click 'Save'.

This means when you search in Google Scholar you'll quickly see those articles where Strathclyde has a subscription and that you can get the full text:

Strathclyde results page in Google SCholar

The links to individual articles will prompt you to log in with your Strathclyde username and password.  The Full Text @ Strathclyde links to SUPrimo and you can follow the links to articles from there.

Google Scholar Coverage - what's included when I search?

  • Articles
  • Theses
  • Books and book chapters
  • Patents
  • Legal Cases
  • Technical Reports
  • Grey Literature (working documents, reports, unpublished materials)

Google Scholar Records

Google Scholar results are presented in order that Google determines are the most relevant to the search query.

 

  • You can choose if you want your results to be ordered by date or by relevance.

  • Items that are available from Strathclyde will display with 'Full Text @ Strathclyde' (as long as you have set up Library Links.)

  • Cited by shows the number of times an article has been cited and links to those other articles. 

  • Related articles links to other articles on a similar topic.

When should I use Google Scholar?

Use Google Scholar to find:

  • A specific article where you know the title and/or author
  • Conference Proceedings
  • To check what's 'out there' in terms of research
  • Content that you cannot access through other Library databases. Check Google Scholar as a 'last resort' 
Remember that there is other content available in the Library's subscribed databases that may not be available via Google Scholar.  Check the Library A-Z Databases link or Subject List of LibGuides to find the best databases for your area.

Limitations of Google Scholar

Although Google Scholar can be a very useful search engine it is important to remember that it has limitations: 

The results are not comprehensive;
Often the full text is not available;
Not all articles are peer-reviewed;
The Advanced Search is not as powerful as the advanced search features of databases.
Contact us                                Electronic Library Services                              Library Home