It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Official Publications: How to find official publications: Statistical Information
What are official publications? Where can you find official publications?
The primary aim of official statistics in Scotland is to provide an accurate up-to-date comprehensive and meaningful picture of the economy and society to support the formulation and monitoring of economic and social policies by government and others.
The Department collects, analyses and publishes a wide range of statistical information about Scotland’s people. This includes key statistical trends on: Council Area Profiles; High Level Summaries; and the Registrar General’s Annual Review. It also includes more detailed information on topics such as Households, Life Expectancy, Population, Migration, Vital Events (births, deaths and marriages) and Electoral Statistics.
Information about monitoring, promoting and safeguarding the production of UK official statistics can be found at the UK Statistics Authority website. This includes information about types of official statistics and a list of national statistics.
Access to data from the ESDS (Economic and Social Data Service) and Census data for 1971-2011.
Includes data from International Energy Agency, World Bank, OECD, United Nations, Human Rights Atlas, International Monetary Fund.
Two stage authentication process: use your DS login for first stage (Institutional Login); click on help icon above for information on second stage (individual registration).
ONS is the UK’s largest independent producer of official statistics and is the recognised national statistical institute for the UK. It collects and publishes statistics related to the economy, population and society at national, regional and local levels. It also conducts the census in England and Wales every ten years.
Data.gov.uk brings together public data in one searchable website. There are datasets available from all central government departments and a number of other public sector bodies and local authorities.
(2000 - 2011) Social Trends provides a comprehensive description of society, drawing on statistics from a wide range of government departments and other organisations to show how society is changing, as well as some of the factors which may be driving these trends.
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. It provides statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Data can be browsed by theme and there is also access to Eurostat publications.
The International Labour Organization's central statistics database ILOSTAT provides cross-country statistics on the labour market. The database contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies.
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development and provides access to their books, journals and working papers, and statistics. Please note that Strathclyde does not have access to all content on the OECD iLibrary platform.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter either your DS username and password or your University email address and password where prompted.