LibGuides: Official Publications: How to find official publications: Home

Official publications

Official publications encompass a wide variety of materials. They include parliamentary publications and publications from government departments and other public bodies and agencies. Official publications may include statistics, records, reports, legislation and even maps.

Official publications may originate from many different sources. These include the legislatures and governements of individual countries, as well as international organisations such as the European Union or the United Nations, the World Bank, the IMF, the WTO, the Council of Europe, etc.

Official publications may cover social, economic, scientific and many other topics. Therefore, they may be of relevance to any academic discipline.

Key general sources of official publications

GOV.UK
The websites of all government departments and many other agencies and public bodies have been merged into GOV.UK. Here you can see all policies, announcements, publications, statistics and consultations.
Scottish Government
Official website of the Scottish Government.

OECD iLibrary
- This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development and provides access to their books, journals and working papers, and statistics. Please note that Strathclyde does not have access to all content on the OECD iLibrary platform.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Public Information Online
- This link opens in a new window
Public Information Online contains publications from the Westminster Parliament, Scottish Parliament, Northern Ireland Assembly, National Assembly for Wales, Scottish Government and also Non-Parliamentary material.
It provides access to Bills, Command Papers, House of Commons Papers, House of Lords Papers, Hansard, Scottish Parliament Papers, the SP Official Report and Scottish Government Papers.
Dates of coverage: UK Parliament (2006/07 Session onwards); Scottish Parliament (Session 3 onwards). Hansard is available from 2008/09 onwards. Earlier content is being added.
Useful for: All disciplines - especially Education, Government & Public Policy, Law, Politics, Social Work & Social Policy.
Off campus? Select 'Account Login', choose 'Shibboleth: Login through your Home Organisation', search for and select University of Strathclyde and select Continue. Enter your University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Scottish Government Publications
Full text of Scottish Government publications from 1997 onwards.
Open access/publicly accessible content. No login required.
UK Parliamentary Papers
- This link opens in a new window
UK Parliamentary Papers (formerly House of Commons Parliamentary Papers) contains Sessional Papers (e.g. House of Commons Papers, Command Papers and Public Bills) from 1715 to the 2009/10 parliamentary session. UKPP also provides access to supplementary parliamentary material back to 1688 including material from the House of Lords. Full-text of papers from session 2010-11 onwards is available via the Public Information Online service.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.