LibGuides: Foreign and International Legal Information: How to find legal material from non-UK jurisdictions: Sources of International Maritime Law

United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea by University of Virginia. Center for Oceans Law and Policy
Call Number: [internet resource]
Publication Date: Latest edition available online.
These Commentaries are based almost entirely on the formal and informal documentation of the Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS III, 1973-1982), coupled, where necessary, with the personal knowledge of editors, contributors, or reviewers, many of whom were principal negotiators or UN personnel who participated in the Conference.
International maritime boundaries by Coalter G. Lathrop editor.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: [internet resource]
Publication Date: Latest edition available online.
International Maritime Boundaries Online is a comprehensive reference for international state practice concerning maritime boundary delimitation, and is used and referenced widely by practitioners of international law.

Further help researching international law

GlobaLex Guides
These guides were developed by the Hauser Global Law School Program, New York University School of Law. They provide guidance on undertaking international, comparative and foreign legal research.
Law PORT: Researching customary international law
Tutorial created by the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies Library to support researchers across with UK
Law PORT: Treaties and international conventions
Tutorial created by the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies Library to support researchers across with UK

Sources of foreign and international legal information in libraries

SUPrimo
- This link opens in a new window
SUPrimo is the University of Strathclyde Library's integrated search service.
Within the University Library, the shelfmark for international law begins ‘D341…’ and that for non-UK jurisdictions begins ‘D349…’. Materials may be found on level 5 of the Library and in the Short Loan Collection (level 3).
Access methods to electronic resources vary. Look at the 'Authentication Notes' in the Electronic Resource tab of SUPrimo records for more information.

FLAG: Foreign Law Guide
FLAG is a collaborative internet gateway to the holdings of foreign, international and comparative law in UK universities and national libraries. It maps the location of primary foreign, international and comparative legal materials in UK university and national libraries.
FLAG provides a searchable inventory of collections by jurisdiction, form of literature (legislation, law reports, digests, etc), and subject (where relevant). It also offers a quantitative indication of collection strength at a range of libraries.
By using either the ‘Collections search’ or ‘Advanced search’ options you can retrieve information about which libraries hold collections relating to particular jurisdictions.
N.B. You will still need to arrange access to view material.
Jisc Library Hub Discover
- This link opens in a new window
Jisc Library Hub Discover exposes rare and unique research material by bringing together the catalogues of major UK and Irish libraries. In a single search you can discover the holdings of the UK’s National Libraries (including the British Library), many university libraries, and specialist research libraries. This new service replaces Copac and SUNCAT, providing access to a growing range of library catalogues.
SCONUL Access
SCONUL Access is a reciprocal scheme which allows many university library users to borrow or use books and journals at other libraries which belong to the scheme. The scheme covers most of the university libraries in the UK and Ireland.
Inter-Library Service
The Inter-Library Service (ILS) obtains material, in hard copy and in electronic format, which is not available in the University Library or locally.