It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lexis Library: How to use Lexis Library: Lexis Library EU materials
How to access the Lexis Library database service and use it to find: case law, legislation, journal articles and more. This also includes information about how to access international materials on Lexis Library.
Some sources referred to may not be available under the University's subscription.
Searching for EU legislation on Lexis Library
The International Legislation search screen provides various search boxes where you can enter terms:
e.g. Directive 95/46/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 24 October 1995 on the protection of individuals with regard to the processing of personal data and on the free movement of such data (or 95/46/EC)
e.g. infringing fundamental freedoms or privacy; for purposes of journalism or for purposes of literary of artistic expression
You can specify sections of the document to search from the 'Advanced search' option.
To search for treaties select the 'EU treaties' option from the 'Sources' drop-down menu.
Checking the status of EU legislation on Lexis Library
EU legislation (from the source 'EU Legislation: Consolidated Versions') incorporates amendments with amending legislation listed.
Searching for EU case law on Lexis Library
The 'International Cases' search provides various boxes where you can enter your search terms, incuding:
'Case name' e.g. Commission of the European Communities v Kingdom of SpainorC-157/03
'Search terms' e.g. cassis de dijonor minimum alcohol content
You can limit your search to EU cases by selecting 'EU Cases' from the 'Sources' drop-down menu.
Log into Lexis
Lexis LibraryLexis Library provides full-text access to legal, tax and accountancy information. This includes many U.K. reported and unreported cases, legislation, and a number of U.K. legal journals. Commentary includes the Stair Memorial Encyclopaedia and Halsbury’s Laws of England. In force legislation relating to England and Wales as well as that from the Scottish Parliament is included, but some pre-devolution U.K. legislation applying solely to Scotland is excluded. Material from non-U.K. jurisdictions is available under the ‘Sources’ tab. The service includes Lexis Tax & Accountancy (formerly Butterworths Tax News Online and Tax Libraries Online). Connect to Lexis Library and choose the 'Practice Areas' tab. Then click on the Tax & Accountancy option.