It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lexis Library: How to use Lexis Library: Lexis Library Commentary
How to access the Lexis Library database service and use it to find: case law, legislation, journal articles and more. This also includes information about how to access international materials on Lexis Library.
general legal encyclopaedias (e.g. Stair Memorial Encyclopaedia and Halsbury’s Laws of England); and
specialist practitioner texts (e.g. Harvey on Industrial Relations and Employment Law, , Laddie, Prescott & Vitoria: The Modern Law of Copyright and Designs, Macdonald's Immigration Law and Practice).
You can access the ‘Commentary’ search screen by selecting ‘Commentary’ on the top menu bar.
Tip: If you wish to see a full list of available UK commentary titles, select 'Browse' to the left of the Commentary search screen. You can then select individual titles to search.
Using Halsbury's Laws of England
Halsbury's Laws of England is a key legal encyclopaedia covering English Law. It is an example of 'commentary' available on Lexis®Library.
Using Commentary on Lexis Library
Selecting a source
The default setting in the ‘Sources’ box is ‘All Subscribed Commentary Sources’. You can specify a particular source from the drop-down menu or select a source by selecting ‘More Sources’. For example, to select the Stair Memorial Encyclopaedia:
Select ‘More Sources’.
Tick the box beside ‘Stair Memorial Encyclopaedia’,
Select ‘OK – Continue’ to return to the commentary search screen.
Enter your terms in the ‘Search terms’ or ‘Heading’ box.
Select ‘Search’ to display results .
Select the document title to view the full-text.
Select the ‘Browse’ link in the left-hand column. Navigate through the source by using +/-. Select an individual heading title to view the full-text.
Log into Lexis
Lexis LibraryLexis Library provides full-text access to legal, tax and accountancy information. This includes many U.K. reported and unreported cases, legislation, and a number of U.K. legal journals. Commentary includes the Stair Memorial Encyclopaedia and Halsbury’s Laws of England. In force legislation relating to England and Wales as well as that from the Scottish Parliament is included, but some pre-devolution U.K. legislation applying solely to Scotland is excluded. Material from non-U.K. jurisdictions is available under the ‘Sources’ tab. The service includes Lexis Tax & Accountancy (formerly Butterworths Tax News Online and Tax Libraries Online). Connect to Lexis Library and choose the 'Practice Areas' tab. Then click on the Tax & Accountancy option.