LibGuides: Journals: how to find and use journal articles: Where can you find journal articles?

Online access to journal articles

Subscribed journals

You can access journals subscribed to by the Library via SUPrimo.

You can use the 'Library Collections' tab to search by journal title or the 'Articles + databases' tab to search by article title or keyword:

SUPrimo SUPrimo is the University of Strathclyde Library's integrated search service. Use SUPrimo to search our print and electronic library collections, including: books - journal titles - databases - electronic resources - theses - exam papers - media resources - course material.
- This link opens in a new window
Access methods to electronic resources vary. Look at the 'Authentication Notes' in the Electronic Resource tab of SUPrimo records for more information.

Alternatively, you can use BrowZine to browse for selected ejournals from our collection:

BrowZine BrowZine enables you to easily browse, read and monitor current journal content either online or on your mobile device. BrowZine brings together titles in our journal collection with open access titles for a complete browsing experience.
- This link opens in a new window

You can undertake more in depth and detailed searches for journal articles using subject-specific databases. Some databases contain the full-text of journal articles, while others provide abstracts (summaries) but may link to full-text with the button:

A-Z Databases Find the best Library databases for your research. You can filter databases by subject, type and vendor.

Open access articles

Other sources of journal articles online include 'open access' sources such as the University of Strathclyde's institutional repository Strathprints. While institutional repositories provide access to articles which might not otherwise be available, the version may not be exactly the same as that in the final journal publication:

Finding and Accessing Open Access Resources: Open Access Journals and Articles
A guide on how to find and access Open Access journal articles.
Strathprints The Strathprints institutional repository is a digital archive of University of Strathclyde research outputs. It has been developed to disseminate Open Access research outputs, expose data about those outputs, and enable the management and persistent access to Strathclyde's intellectual output.
OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories. OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here.

Print journals in the Andersonian Library

In the Library openly accessible print journals (serials) are shelved on Level 1 in the Serials collection and arranged by UDC class number, then alphabetically by title within each class number.
Use SUPrimo to find the shelving location:

SUPrimo SUPrimo is the University of Strathclyde Library's integrated search service. Use SUPrimo to search our print and electronic library collections, including: books - journal titles - databases - electronic resources - theses - exam papers - media resources - course material.
- This link opens in a new window
Access methods to electronic resources vary. Look at the 'Authentication Notes' in the Electronic Resource tab of SUPrimo records for more information.

For example, if you found the record for the Journal of Biological Chemistry:

you would go to the Serials shelves at number 577.1 then amongst journals at that number look alphabetically for Journal of Biological Chemistry.

Journals at other libraries

If you can't access a journal article online or in the Andersonian Library, you may be able to access it either at another Library or by using our Inter-Library Service.

Visiting other libraries

To find out which UK libraries hold a particular journal you can use the Jisc Library Hub Discover service:

Jisc Library Hub Discover
- This link opens in a new window
Jisc Library Hub Discover exposes rare and unique research material by bringing together the catalogues of major UK and Irish libraries. In a single search you can discover the holdings of the UK’s National Libraries (including the British Library), many university libraries, and specialist research libraries. This new service replaces Copac and SUNCAT, providing access to a growing range of library catalogues.

You can access the libraries of higher education institutions in the west of Scotland under our reciprocal access scheme:

Reciprocal access to local university libraries There is full reciprocal access for undergraduates between the libraries of Glasgow University, Strathclyde University, Glasgow Caledonian University, University of the West of Scotland (UWS), Glasgow School of Art and the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland.

You can access many other university libraries in the UK and Ireland under the SCONUL Access scheme:

SCONUL Access SCONUL Access is a reciprocal scheme which allows many university library users to borrow or use books and journals at other libraries which belong to the scheme. The scheme covers most of the university libraries in the UK and Ireland.

Inter-Library Service

If eligible, you may be able to use our Inter-Library Service to request a journal article to be delivered to you directly:

Inter-Library Service The Inter-Library Service (ILS) obtains material, in hard copy and in electronic format, which is not available in the University Library or locally.

N.B. Access to/membership of other libraries does not usually include access to their electronic resources, only print materials.