Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journals: how to find and use journal articles: How to find a known article

What are journal articles? Where can you find journals online and in the Library? How can you find a known article or articles on a topic?

How to find a journal article when you have the full reference

If you have the full reference to an article, then the most efficient way of checking whether you can access it online or in the Andersonian Library is to use SUPrimo.

You can search using the 'Library Collections' tab by journal title or using the 'Articles + Databases' tab by article title.

If you can't find the journal, you may need to check specialist databases for your subject area or check whether you can find it at another library.

Searching by journal title

If you have a full reference:

Cumming, R. C., N. L. Andon, P. A. Haynes, M. Park, W. H. Fischer, and D. Schubert. 2004. "Protein Disulfide Bond Formation in the Cytoplasm during Oxidative Stress." Journal of Biological Chemistry 279 (21): 21749-21758.

an effective way of checking whether you can access the article either online or in the Andersonian Library is to use SUPrimo's 'Library Collections' search and search by journal title.

1. Go to SUPrimo:

2. Make sure the 'Library Collections' option is selected and enter the title of the journal (e.g. Journal of Biological Chemistry):

SUPrimo search box

3. Select the Search button.

4. A list of results is displayed. If you have a lot of results, you can refine these in the column to the left of the results.

SUPrimo filter options

5. Look for the journal in your reference:

Records for the Journal of Biological Chemistry

To access the journal online

6. Select 'Online access'. You then see a list of services where you can access the journal. You should note any differences in dates of coverage and check whether the service covers the date of the article you are looking for:

Online access options

7. Follow the link to your preferred service and log in, if required. How the journal home page displays varies depending on the particular journal and the service you are viewing it on.

However, you will usually have the option to either search for the article (by title, keyword, author etc.):

Journal of Biological Chemistry search options

Or browse for your article (by volume/year, issue, page):

Joural of Biological Chemistry - browse by year

8. Once you have found the article, you can read it online or choose from print, download or email options.

Image of journal article

To access the journal in the Andersonian Library

9. Select 'Get It' in the SUPrimo record for the journal. You will then see the shelving location and number:

Holdings in the Library

10. Go to the location in the Andersonian Library, find:

  • the shelving number (577.1)
  • the journal alphabetically within the number (Journal of Biological Chemistry)
  • the volume / year and issue (Volume 279, Issue 21)
  • the page the article starts on (21749)

11. You can now read the article!

Searching by article title

Another way of finding a journal article when you have a full (or partial) reference is to use SUPrimo's 'Articles and papers' search and search using keywords from the article title.

(N.B. This search does not cover all journals that you can access online or in the Andersonian Library, but it is a quick way of finding articles which are covered by this search.)

Example

If you have a reference e.g.:

Cumming, R. C., N. L. Andon, P. A. Haynes, M. Park, W. H. Fischer, and D. Schubert. 2004. "Protein Disulfide Bond Formation in the Cytoplasm during Oxidative Stress." Journal of Biological Chemistry 279 (21): 21749-21758.

1. Go to SUPrimo:

2. Select the 'Articles and papers' search and enter keywords from the article's title (and author keyword if appropriate):

Articles and papers search

3. Select the search button.

4. A list of results is displayed. If you have a lot of results, you can refine these in the column to the left of the results.

5. Look for the article in your reference:

Article record

6. Select 'Full text available'. You then see a list of services where you can access the article:

Online access to article

7. Follow the link to your preferred service and log in, if required. You may go straight to the article or you may go to the journal home page depending on the particular journal and the service you have chosen. (If you are taken to the journal home page, you will usually have the option to either search or browse for your article.)

8. Once you have found the article, you can read it online or choose from print download or email options.

Journals on subject databases

The vast majority of online journals that you have access to are covered by the SUPrimo 'Library Collections' and 'Articles + Databases' searches.

However, there are a few journals that are not covered by these searches and which are available via online databases.

Please contact a member of Library staff if you can't find an article you are looking for:

You can view a list of available databases:

Username and password

You always need your DS username and password  for off campus access to database services and other online resources that the Library subscribes to. You may sometimes need these for on campus access as well.

Journals at other libraries

If you can't access a journal article online or in the Andersonian Library, you may be able to access it either at another Library or by using our Inter-Library Service.

Visiting other libraries

To find out which UK libraries hold a particular journal you can use the Jisc Library Hub Discover service:

You can access the libraries of higher education institutions in the west of Scotland under our reciprocal access scheme:

You can access many other university libraries in the UK and Ireland under the SCONUL Access scheme:

Inter-Library Service

If eligible, you may be able to use our Inter-Library Service to request a journal article to be delivered to you directly:


N.B. Access to/membership of other libraries does not usually include access to their electronic resources, only print materials.

Contact us                                Electronic Library Services                              Library Home