LibGuides: Grey Literature: Science resources

Preprints - Grey Literature

A preprint is a paper that has not yet been submitted to a journal for peer review.

arxiv.org
Open access preprint and postprints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Articles are approved after moderation, but are not peer reviewed.
bioRxiv
Preprint server for biology. Operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
ChemxRiv
Preprint service for Chemistry and related areas. It is co-owned and managed by American Chemical Society, Chemical Society of Japan, Chinese Chemical Society, German Chemical Society. and the Royal Society of Chemistry.
medRxiv
Preprint server for medical, clinical and health sciences. Operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. BMJ and Yale.

Clinical Trials - Grey Literature

ClinicalTrials.gov
US and worldwide clinical trials. Resource provided by the US National Library of Medicine.
EU Clinical Trials Register
Information about interventional clinical trials
ISRCTN Registry
International Standard Randomised Controlled Trial Number.
WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform Search Portal
Search across multiple registries of clinical trials.

Databases containing details of clinical trials:

Cochrane Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases. The databases include: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) and The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL). This version of the Cochrane Library is brought to you by Wiley Interscience.
This resource is publicly accessible within the UK and many other countries, and can be accessed without signing in (full details at https://www.cochranelibrary.com/help/access).
Strathclyde members based in other countries can access the resource using University email address and password. Users should select ‘Sign In’, then ‘Institutional Login’, then search for University of Strathclyde in the login via Shibboleth option, then enter University credentials when prompted.
EMBASE: Excerpta Medica [Ovid]
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EMBASE, the Excerpta Medica database, produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine.
MEDLINE [Ovid platform]
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts of journal articles in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. From 1946 onwards.

Systematic reviews - Grey Literature

PROSPERO: International Prospective Register of Systematic Reviews
Protocol details for systematic reviews relevant to health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome. Produced by CRD and funded by the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR).

Information Services Andersonian Library Guides

Grey Literature

Preprints - Grey Literature

Clinical Trials - Grey Literature

Systematic reviews - Grey Literature