Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ELT: English language teaching: Databases

A guide to ELT library resources

Useful databases

Use these databases to search for ELT information.

British Education Index  provides information on  research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. Does contain articles and papers on ELT.

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature including ELT.

Australian Education Index contains documents relating to educational research, policy and practice.  by the Cunningham Library at the Australian Council for Educational Research.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA):  international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.

Omnifile Fulltext Select. A full-text database of journal articles and book reviews. It has multidisciplinary subject coverage, including arts, biology, business, current affairs, education, humanities, information science, law, literature and social sciences.

PsycARTICLES is a full-text database of journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), and other publishers, in subject areas such as applied psychology, educational psychology, health, research, and more.

ScienceDirect contains full-text links to articles on education, psychology and social sciences.

 

What is a database

What is a database?

Database services enable you to search across and access a huge range of sources including journal articles, book reviews, research reports, conference papers and many more types of document. They can be general in coverage or very subject specific. Some services are comprised of many individual databases, which can be searched separately or cross-searched simultaneously. As well as easy to use basic search options, you can use powerful advanced search options in some databases to retrieve relevant documents. Databases also offer options to sort and refine results (e.g. by publication date, whether peer-reviewed, type of document, etc.) or search within results.

By using database services subscribed to by the University you will be able to search more effectively and retrieve materials you might miss otherwise if using general internet search engines.

The Library subscribes to a number of databases which are useful for educational research. Some, such as British Education Index, ERIC and Australian Education Index are particluarly focused on education, whilst others are general social sciences databases which contain education-related material.

 

Passwords

Your DS username and password will always be required for off campus access to databases, and sometimes on campus access as well.

Database tutorials

EBSCOhost tutorials (British Education Index, ERIC, Education Abstracts, PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS)

Contact us                                Electronic Library Services                              Library Home