It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biological and Biomedical Sciences: Guides
Library resources for Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Library PowerPoint presentation on constructing a search for student projects in SIPBS. It covers how to analyse your topic, select search terms and form a search statement (recorded Sept 2020).
Library PowerPoint presentation on choosing search tools for student projects in SIPBS. It covers using SUPrimo Library catalogue search and bibliographic databases (recorded Sept 2020).
How to search the MEDLINE database using the Ovid platform. This demonstration covers the Basic search, Advanced search with keywords and subject headings., limits and search history (recorded Nov 2020).
Training on the Ovid platform. See the Database/Resource specific section for sessions on MEDLINE and Embase.
Academic integrity tutorial - this University of Leeds tutorial covers plagiarism, note taking and referencing.
You Quote It, You Note It! - this quick Vaughan Memorial Library Plagiarism tutorial covers plagiarism and referencing.
Engage in research - this University of Reading interactive tutorial for bioscience students covers areas such as reviewing the literature and writing scientifically
Citing it right: introducing referencing - this University of Manchester tutorial is part of the My Learning essentials resources and covers when and how to reference and how to read a reference on a reading list or bibliography
