LibGuides: Physics: Home

Key Databases - Physics

Inspec [Engineering Village]
- This link opens in a new window
Inspec database via the Engineering Village database platform.
Inspec is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than 7.7 million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
ScienceDirect [Elsevier]
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.

Additional Databases - Physics

Web of Science - all databases
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a platform consisting of multiple databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. Content spans multiple disciplines, document types and formats.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
SCOPUS
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
IEEE Xplore
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Access is to the full text published since 1988 and select content published since 1913 from: IEEE journals, transactions, proceedings, and magazines; IEEE conference proceedings; IEEE published standards; IEEE Spectrum Magazine; IEEE-Wiley eBooks collection; IET journals; IET conference proceedings.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.

Videos, guides and help - Physics

Engineering Village Tutorials
Short videos covering the Engineering Village platform. Inspec, Compendex and Geobase databases are available through this platform.
Engineering Village LibGuide
Guide to using the Engineering Village platform. Inspec, Compendex and Geobase databases are available through this platform.
Scopus LibGuide
Guide to using the Scopus database.
IEEE courses - Photonics & Electro-Optics
IEEE Photonics & Electro-Optics courses available through the IEEE Xplore platform. Choose "Institutional Sign in" and Strathclyde University to get access. You may be asked for your DS username and password.
ScienceDirect LibGuide
Guide to using the ScienceDirect database.

Related guides - Physics

Computer and Information Sciences
by Elaine Blair Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 178 views this year
Mathematics and Statistics
by Elaine Blair Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 57 views this year
Electronic and Electrical Engineering
by Alasdair Stewart Last Updated Jan 11, 2024 310 views this year

Useful shelf numbers - Physics

Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme whereby each subject is represented by a number.

You wil find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.

Here are some useful physics shelfmarks.

D 530 Comprehensive works on Physics

D 531 Mechanics of solids

D 532 Mechanics of fluids

D 533 Mechanics of gases

D 534 Sound and related vibrations

D 535 Optics

D 536 Heat

D 537 Electricity and electronics

D 537.622 Semiconductors

D 538 Magnetism

D 539 Molecular, atomic and nuclear physics

Faculty Librarian

Elaine Blair

Email Me

Subjects: Biosciences, Computer & Information Sciences, Forensic Science, Mathematics & Statistics, Pharmacy & Pharmacology, Physics, Pure & Applied Chemistry, Science, Strathclyde Institute of Pharmacy & Biomedical Sciences