Pharmacy: Home

EMBASE, the Excerpta Medica database, produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine.

Contains citations and abstracts of journal articles in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. From 1946 onwards.

PubMed, from the US National Library of Medicine in Washington DC, provides access to over 19 million citations back to the 1950's from MEDLINE and additional life sciences journals. It also includes links to full-text articles and related resources. No login required. If you require an NCBI account (e.g. to create alerts) you can create it and login using one of the third party options, e.g. Google, Login.gov, Microsoft Live.

The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases. The databases include: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews), Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) and The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL). This version of the Cochrane Library is brought to you by Wiley Interscience.

CINAHL is an index to journals in the allied health and nursing subject areas. As well as indexing over 3000 journals, full text access is provided to over 600 journals. This is a useful database for those studying or researching: Speech and Language Therapy, Sport and Physical Activity, Health Psychology, Digital Health, Pharmacy, Prosthetics and Orthotics and Pharmacology.

Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.

Web of Science is a platform consisting of multiple databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. Content spans multiple disciplines, document types and formats.

ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.

PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S National Institute of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). It covers materials from 2000 onwards. No login required. If you require an NCBI account (e.g. to create alerts) you can create it and login using one of the third party options, e.g. Google, Login.gov, Microsoft Live.

Life sciences, biomedical and health repository. Europe PubMed Central (Europe PMC) is a repository, providing access to worldwide life sciences articles, books, patents and clinical guidelines.

Reaxys is a factual chemistry database combining three major databases: Beilstein, Gmelin and the Patent Chemistry databases. It covers organic, organometallic and inorganic chemistry and includes data on single and multi-step reactions, physical properties, structures and catalysts.

APA PsycInfo contains references to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations in the field of psychology and behavioural sciences. It covers the period from 1600 to present. Almost all the materials included in APA PsycInfo are peer-reviewed. As well as psychology it includes references to the psychological aspects of: health, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, business and law.

The BNF includes key information on the selection, prescribing, dispensing and administration of medicines. It is a joint publication of the British Medical Association and the Royal Pharmaceutical Society. Access through the Medicines Complete platform.

Reference resource containing monographs of medicinal and pharmaceutical substances. British Pharmacopoeia (BP) 2017 edition incorporates European Pharmacopoeia (Ph. Eur.) 9th ed and Supplement 9.1, marked with orange banners.

Covers drug interactions including therapeutic drugs, proprietary medicines, herbal medicines, foodstuffs, drinks, pesticides, and drugs of abuse. Access through the Medicines Complete platform.

Martindale provides practical, evidence-based, global guidance, allowing you to understand the characteristics of drugs and other pharmaceutical substances and their clinical uses. Access through the Medicines Complete platform.

Guide to the properties of excipients, their safe use and application. Access through the Medicines Complete Platform.