LibGuides: Government & Public Policy: Home

Key databases: Government & Public Policy

Politics Collection
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Politics Collection provides access to databases such as PAIS and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals.
This collection includes: PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Subject coverage includes: politics, government, international relations, public policy and electoral systems.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Political Science Database
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Political Science gives users access to over 410 leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides the full-text of 385 core titles, many of which are indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. New to ProQuest Political Science are hundreds of recent, full-text, political science dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities, as well as thousands of current working papers from the Political Science Research Network.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
PAIS Index
- This link opens in a new window
PAIS covers issues in the public debate.
It provides selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Dates of coverage: 1972 to present (PAIS International) 1915 – 1976 (PAIS Archive).
Subject coverage includes: economic conditions; education; energy resources and policy; government; health conditions; human rights; international relations; labour conditions and policy; politics; and social conditions.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Policy File Index
- This link opens in a new window
Policy File Index is a resource for U.S. public policy research. Users are able to access timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
This database also forms part of ProQuest's Politics Collection.
Dates of coverage: 1990 - current.
Subject coverage includes: economics, international relations, politics, public policy and political science.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.

The Politics Collection (comprised of the Political Science Database, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, PAIS Index, and Policy File Index) forms part of the broader collection:

Social Science Premium Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Social Science Premium Collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences.
It provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals. (Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.)
Dates of coverage: 1871 - current.
Subject coverage includes: politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Political Science
- This link opens in a new window
Access to all titles from the Political Science subject area of the Oxford Handbooks Online Service.
Please follow 'Authentication note' instructions against individual eBook records in SUPrimo.

Oxford research encyclopedias: Politics by Thompson, William R., editor.
Call Number: [internet resource]
ISBN: 0190228636
Publication Date: 2017 -

Additional databases - Government & Public Policy

Additional databases - Government & Public Policy
All databases related to the subject Government & Public Policy - derived from the A-Z list.

Browsing Political Science Journals

You can use BrowZine to find journals in your subject area. Please note that BrowZine does not list all of Strathclyde's journals, but it is a useful way to identify key journals within a subject field.

Research skills textbooks

Doing Research in Political Science by Paul Pennings; Hans Keman; Jan Kleinnijenhuis
Call Number: D 320.018 PEN
ISBN: 9781848606074
Publication Date: 2005
Doing Your Research Project by Judith Bell; Stephen Waters
Call Number: D 370.72 BEL
ISBN: 9780335243396
Publication Date: 2018
Research can be daunting, particularly for first-timers, but this book provides everything you need to know to prepare for, research, draft and finalise a methodologically sound and well-written report or thesis, plus it warns you of potential pitfalls to prevent you wasting time on false trails.
Social Research by Tim May
Call Number: D 300.72 MAY
ISBN: 9780335235674
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
The book is divided into two parts, with part one examining the issues and perspectives in social research and part two setting out the methods and processes.

Useful shelf numbers

Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme where each subject is represented by a number.

You will find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.

e.g. D 320.9411 MACG

Useful Government and Public Policy shelfmarks

D 300 Social sciences (General)

D 320 Political science

D 320.6 Policy making

D 330 Economics

D 350 Public administration

Related guides

Social Work & Social Policy (including Criminology)
by Gareth Ryan Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 413 views this year
Law
by Gareth Ryan Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 1819 views this year
Archives and Special Collections
by Carol Stewart Last Updated Apr 15, 2024 3113 views this year

Faculty Librarian

Gareth Ryan

Email Me

Subjects: Centre for Lifelong Learning, Criminology, Education & Social Services, Genealogical, Palaeographic & Heraldic Studies, Government & Public Policy, Humanities & Social Sciences, Law, Politics and International Relations, Safety and Risk Management, Social Policy, Social Work, Social Work & Social Policy

Government & Public Policy: Home

Contents