LibGuides: Mathematics and Statistics: Home

Key Databases - Mathematics and Statistics

MathSciNet [AMS platform]
- This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature of the past 61 years. It provides access to the reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical reviews from 1940 onwards. Conference proceedings and books are covered, as well as items listed in the annual indexes of Mathematical reviews but not given an individual review.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
MathSciNet [EBSCOhost platform]
- This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet via EBSCOhost. It is also available via the American Mathematical Society (AMS) interface. MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature of the past 61 years. It provides access to the reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical reviews from 1940 onwards. Conference proceedings and books are covered, as well as items listed in the annual indexes of Mathematical reviews but not given an individual review.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Lecture Notes in Mathematics - SpringerLink (MetaPress)
We have access to titles in this collection from Volume 1, 1964. This series reports on new developments in all areas of mathematics and their applications - quickly, informally and at a high level. Mathematical texts analysing new developments in modelling and numerical simulation are welcome. The type of material considered for publication includes: 1. Research monographs 2. Lectures on a new field or presentations of a new angle in a classical field. 3. Summer schools and intensive courses on topics of current research.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.

Additional databases - Mathematics and Statistics

Web of Science - all databases
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a platform consisting of multiple databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. Content spans multiple disciplines, document types and formats.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
SCOPUS
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Inspec [Engineering Village]
- This link opens in a new window
Inspec database via the Engineering Village database platform.
Inspec is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than 7.7 million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.

Videos, guides and help - Mathematics and Statistics

Engineering Village Tutorials
Short videos covering the Engineering Village platform. Inspec, Compendex and Geobase databases are available through this platform.
Engineering Village LibGuide
Guide to using the Engineering Village platform. Inspec, Compendex and Geobase databases are available through this platform.
Scopus LibGuide
Guide to using the Scopus database.
Web of Science Platform Training
Get Started with Web of Science. Includes the self-guided Web of Science course and other resources to help you use databases available from the Web of Science platform.

Related Guides - Mathematics and Statistics

Computer and Information Sciences
by Elaine Blair Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 178 views this year
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
by Elaine Blair Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 95 views this year

Useful shelf numbers - Mathematics and Statistics

Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme whereby each subject is represented by a number.

You will find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.

Here are some useful mathematics and statistics shelfmarks.

D 510 Mathematics

D 512 Algebra

D 513 Arithmetic

D 514 Topology

D 515 Analysis, calculus

D 516 Geometry

D 519 Probabilities and applied mathematics

D 519.5 Statistics

Faculty Librarian

Elaine Blair

Email Me

Subjects: Biosciences, Computer & Information Sciences, Forensic Science, Mathematics & Statistics, Pharmacy & Pharmacology, Physics, Pure & Applied Chemistry, Science, Strathclyde Institute of Pharmacy & Biomedical Sciences