Counselling: Home

APA PsycInfo contains references to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations in the field of psychology and behavioural sciences. It covers the period from 1600 to present. Almost all the materials included in APA PsycInfo are peer-reviewed. As well as psychology it includes references to the psychological aspects of: health, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, business and law.

APA PsycArticles provides full-text access to almost 80 journals published by American Psychological Association and other publishers in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more. It covers the period 1894 to present. Searching APA PsycInfo will automatically search the contents of APA PsycArticles.

APA PsycBooks, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of more than 38,000 chapters in PDF format from over 2,500 books published by APA and other publishers. It also includes over 1,600 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s and access to more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology. It can be cross-searched with APA PsycInfo and APA PsycArticles.

Links to individual ebooks in APA PsycBooks can also be found via SUPrimo.

The Web of Science Core Collection comprises a set of databases covering scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examines proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

The British Education Index provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers education from pre-school to university level and includes a thesaurus using UK-specific educational terminology. Most of the journals included in British Education Index are published in the UK, although some international literature is included. This database can be cross-searched with ERIC.

The Australian Education Index provides access to documents relating to educational trends, research, policy and practice. Covers the period 1977 to present.

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from from 1966 to present. It can be cross-searched with the British Education Index.

ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.

Previously known as PILOTS, the PTSDpubs database indexes literature relating to post-traumatic stress disorder and related mental health conditions. It covers assessment, prevention and treatment of these conditions as well as literature relating to public policy and traumatised populations.

Contains citations and abstracts of journal articles in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. From 1946 onwards.

MEDLINE on this service contains over 20 million citations and abstracts from 1946 onwards, providing unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature. The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE. Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; sports medicine; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.

This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. This includes coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.

SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. It supports research at all levels and across all subjects by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process. Also includes cases, datasets, data analysis and materials on data visualization, qualitative and quantitative research methods, statistical methods and statistical packages such as Python, R and SPSS among others.