LibGuides: News Sources: Home

Current news

We subscribe to the Nexis database (see below) which contains full text of UK Newspapers, both local and national, including Scottish titles such as The Herald, The Scotsman, and the Press and Journal. Nexis also includes tabloids, small circulation regional titles and worldwide newspapers, alongside press releases, newswires and some magazines and trade journals.

You can log in using your DS username and password. You can choose to limit your search to a range of titles, or name the specific publication you are interested in to browse the content. Help on searching Nexis can be found on their support pages or ask your Faculty Librarian for advice.

An alternative newspaper index is Factiva (see below) which indexes a wide range of local, regional, national and international newspapers. You can log in using your DS username and password. You can choose to limit your search to a range of titles, or name the specific publication you are interested in to browse the content.

You will also find some titles covered by other databases such as Gale Business Insights and ABI/INFORM (see below), which also include trade news and reports.

Nexis
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis provides full-text coverage of newspapers worldwide, plus press releases, transcripts of TV broadcasts, newswires, magazines and trade journals.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Factiva is a current international news database produced by Dow Jones, a global provider of economic and financial information. Users have access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. Content provides local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events, containing current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
Gale Business: Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Data sets, visualisation tools and case studies to research and analyse companies, industries and economies around the world.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
ProQuest One Business
- This link opens in a new window
A business focused interface guides users to a huge range of content including journal articles, books, company, industry and country reports. Other content includes case studies and video content.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
European Newsstream
- This link opens in a new window
European Newsstream provides full text access to recent editions of over 400 European newspapers. Access includes major titles such as Le Monde; the Guardian; Les Echos and El Mundo. Coverage dates vary per title.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.

Print newspapers

The Library has a current collection of UK and foreign print newspapers shelved in level 2 of the Library. The edition for the current day is displayed on the stands by the entrance gates on level 3. Titles held in print are:

Daily Telegraph (Held for 6 months)
Financial Times (Held for 1 year)
Guardian (Held for 6 months)
Herald (Held for 6 months)
Scotsman (Held for 6 months)
Sunday Times (Held for 6 months)
Times (Held for 6 months)
Times Educational Supplement (Held for 2 years plus current year)
Times Educational Supplement Scotland (Held for 2 years plus current year)
Times Higher Educational Supplement (Held for 2 years plus current year)
Times Literary Supplement (Held for 2 years plus current year)
International New York Times (Held for 6 months)