LibGuides: Chemistry: Home

Key Databases - Chemistry

SciFinder-n
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is a new product from CAS and is the next generation of the SciFinder database. It will run in parallel with the existing SciFinder database. It offers high performance search and quick and relevant results.
Off campus? Use your University credentials and multifactor authentication where prompted, and then enter your SciFinder username and password. The same username and password can be used for both SciFinder and SciFinder-n. First time users should contact help@strath.ac.uk to register.
Reaxys
- This link opens in a new window
Reaxys is a factual chemistry database combining three major databases: Beilstein, Gmelin and the Patent Chemistry databases. It covers organic, organometallic and inorganic chemistry and includes data on single and multi-step reactions, physical properties, structures and catalysts.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.

Additional Databases - Chemistry

Web of Science - all databases
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a platform consisting of multiple databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. Content spans multiple disciplines, document types and formats.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
SCOPUS
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.
ScienceDirect [Elsevier]
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Strathclyde users must sign in to access many library eResources. Please follow any on-screen instructions and enter University email address and password with multifactor authentication where prompted.

Knovel - Ebooks and interactive formulae

Knovel
- This link opens in a new window
Knovel is an online library of full-text content from many different publishers, including reference handbooks, conference proceedings and databases. It has extensive coverage across all Engineering disciplines and Chemistry.

Knovel also provides additional tools. A substantial unit conversion tool, key interactive formulae from the major engineering and chemistry professional bodies, tables and graphs that allow users to manipulate, analyze, and export data.
Strathclyde members should access Knovel using library records in SUPrimo, A-Z, LibGuides, Reading Lists etc. and sign in using University credentials. Strathclyde members should not create a My Knovel account with a separate Knovel password.
Knovel allows users to register a profile for access to personalised features. This is optional. Please read our Knovel Login and Profile user guide for information on how to register a profile. Elsevier's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy can be accessed via the links on the Knovel website.

Guides and help - Chemistry

SciFinder-n Training Materials
SciFinder-n Training materials from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. The materials include videos, tutorials and PDF guides

Reaxys Guide
A short Library guide to using the Reaxys database. This guide refers to the new interface.

Elsevier Reaxys LibGuide
Reaxys LibGuide produced by Elsevier.
RxEd: Learning Chemistry with Reaxys
Reaxys videos on YouTube.
Reaxys Support Center
Support and training on using the Reaxys database from Elsevier B.V.
Scopus LibGuide
Guide to using the Scopus database.
ScienceDirect LibGuide
Guide to using the ScienceDirect database.
Web of Science Platform Training
Get Started with Web of Science. Includes the self-guided Web of Science course and other resources to help you use databases available from the Web of Science platform.

The Royal Society of Chemistry - How to read a journal article on their Higher Education Resources area can help you read and understand journal articles.

Related Guides - Chemistry

Pharmacy
by Elaine Blair Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 163 views this year

Useful shelf numbers - Chemistry

Library books are arranged by the Dewey Decimal classification scheme whereby each subject is represented by a number.

You wil find books on the same subject will have the same number. The shelfmark is preceded by the letter D and will be followed by 3 letters, which are usually the first 3 letters of the author's name.

Here are some useful chemistry shelfmarks.

D 543 Analytical Chemistry

D 546 Inorganic Chemistry

D 547 Organic Chemistry

D 574.19 Biochemistry

D 615 Pharmacology and therapeutics

D 660.2 Chemical engineering

Faculty Librarian

Elaine Blair

Email Me

Subjects: Biosciences, Computer & Information Sciences, Forensic Science, Mathematics & Statistics, Pharmacy & Pharmacology, Physics, Pure & Applied Chemistry, Science, Strathclyde Institute of Pharmacy & Biomedical Sciences